Randy Newman will be performing “We Belong Together” at the Academy awards

Randy Newman’s original song “We Belong Together” was nominated for Best original song. Along with the other nominated songs, Randy Newman will perform “We Belong Together”. Here are the other nominees for this category:

  • “Coming Home” from Country Strong – Music and Lyric by Tom Douglas, Troy Verges and Hillary Lindsey (performed by Gwyneth Paltrow)
  • “I See The Light” from Tangled – Music by Alan Menken Lyric by Glenn Slater (performed by Zachery Levi & Mandy Moore)
  • “If I Rise” from 127 Hours – Music by A.R. Rahman Lyric by Dido and Rollo Armstrong (performed by A. R. Rahman)
  • “We Belong Together” from Toy Story 3 – Music and Lyric by Randy Newman (performed by Randy Newman)

It will be a very exciting night with performances of all the nominated songs, but Randy Newman does have some of his own thoughts about his performance. In an interview with Patrick Goldstein of the Los Angeles Times Newman gives us some insight on his own ideas for his performance. “I suggested that I should do my song with someone really inappropriate. My first idea was me and Lady Gaga. I could see us together, with her in a big way, and me in not such a big way. I think it would get some attention. But the academy never goes for any of my trashy ideas.” I can see where Randy Newman is going with here, a collaboration with a chart topping artist is a great idea, and very exciting for fans.

I love the idea, but… stop and think about the movie that Randy Newman wrote this song for. Rated G, for children (and adults!) of all ages. Someone like Lady GaGa for me wouldn’t be the best choice, she is the image of sex, drinking, and taking things to the extreme. Someone like Lady GaGa would not be the right choice for any kind of collaboration, what she stands for is inappropriate for the little ones that have seen this film. Please don’t take this the wrong way, I love Lady GaGa and I do listen to her music.

Despite Randy Newman’s ideas, there will be no collaborations. If you were Randy Newman and could collaborate with anyone, who would it be?

Credit for quote: Patrick Goldstein of the Los Angeles Times

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

